6 months after becoming a developer…

I haven’t written in a very long time. Adam and I just realised that six months ago today we started our jobs here at Front Digital. How cool is that!? I recently wrote a blog post for Escape the City, an awesome company that I’ve been a fan and member of since 2010. It might be of some interest to anyone curious about my transition from historian to coder, and I know there are a ton of other really inspiring blogs on their site as well, so do have a browse around. You can read my article here.

Screen Shot 2014-04-07 at 11.46.36

 

As for what I’m doing at the moment, I am still based at Front Digital as a web developer, but I’m also now project managing our latest site, a full-stack website for a Ghanaian football charity. Because of this I recently got to accompany my boss out to Ghana where we met with the client and did all the preliminary planning (and even got to play a bit of football – ahem – soccer for any American readers!). Adam and I have built the whole prototype for the backend already using Refinerycms and Ruby on Rails, as well as Google maps and javascript/jQuery for the front-end preliminary functions. As soon as Joao’s designs are signed off, Adam and I will be building the rest of the site with hopefully a launch this June! All very exciting stuff.

I was also lucky enough to receive the first General Assembly London Alumni Award from the Regional Director Matt Cynamon at the last student graduation, as was the wonderful George Gray, a grad from the first WDI here in London. I will also begin as a teaching assistant for the Front End Web Development class at General Assembly beginning 28th of April. Best part is, I will be TA-ing for James Willock, one of my teachers from WDI! We are gonna make an awesome team, so I’m super excited about this. I did a short TA session with Codefirst a few weekends ago too, which was very cool and has inspired me to do more teaching (especially for girls).

So all great things this month. I am off to America for Easter holidays and am very much looking forward to this summer. Tonight I’m off to meet up with some former course-mates I haven’t seen in ages, which will be a nice reminder of where we all were 6 months ago. Happy Spring everyone!

 

 


Leave a comment